Relic from Death Valley

Finally checked off an item on the to do list; last weekend we flew to Las Vegas, rented a car and drove to Pahrump, NV where we found a motel to stay at and then drove to back and forth to Death Valley to see what was left of the wildflower super bloom.  On the last day, we drove to Stovepipe Wells and encountered some relics around the hotel grounds there so I decided to take some photos for the Thursday Doors blog.

The first photo is the old fire engine that invited tourists to take its photo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next photo is the for the subject of this blog; a view of the outside of the fire engine’s door.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are always two sides to doors (I don’t think I’ve encountered 3 sides to a door yet) so have a look at the door from the inside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another view of the fire engine from the driver’s side door.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The weekend visit to Death Valley was great and I’ll have to revisit there again as long it is not during the summer or fall when temperatures would be unbearable; however, as we often forget when we get to our destinations, remember that it is the journey that is the fun part and we have to take the time to stop and smell the flowers or we’ll miss some fantastic scenery along the way.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thanks for visiting my blog and thanks to Norm 2.0 for his Thursday Doors blog.  For more blogs and photos of doors by others please go to: Thursday Doors

21 thoughts on “Relic from Death Valley

  1. I love that old firetruck! It does invite one to take its photo. I did the same one year when I was staying in StovePipe Wells.

    Great door for this week’s post!

    I’m looking forward to seeing more of the wildflowers you saw too.

    Like

  2. Your photos are gorgeous! I especially love the landscape with the cloud formation. I don’t get anything even remotely close to that quality from my Olympus!! I’m starting to think it might be the photographer 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you; I used a circular polarizing filter to enhance the color of the sky and mother nature gladly assisted me by providing the clouds (I believe the clouds were blowing in from the west where we had the weekend storms because the wind picked up in the evening and it rained in the desert on that first night we visited).

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t made any attempt to use filters – yet. I’m still working on basics. Maybe it’s time for me to dig a little deeper into the mysteries of photography 😉

        Like

  3. Ahh…I see that if I’d been keeping up with my blogging buddies I’d realize my truck door this last week was in fine company! Fantastic truck & photos…

    Like

Leave a Reply

