Preview of Doors in China

It’s been a few weeks since my last Thursday Doors post because I was in the Shanghai region of China.  Encountered many doors during the travels and I am still editing my photos so I will start with a preview of just a couple of doors now and introduce more in later posts.

The first weekend after arriving in the city of Shanghai, my wife’s friends drove us to the city of Yangzhou which is a 3 hour drive from Shanghai.  After checking into our hotel we looked for a restaurant to eat a late lunch but discovered that we were too late as most of the restaurants we were looking for were closed in preparation for dinner.  So we headed to the Shuandong Ancient Street District, a historical renovated street to depict how the villagers lived except that all or the most of the buildings are bars and shops selling food, snacks, art, furnishings and tourist souvenirs.  There are a few courtyards with huge homes, gardens and ponds of the wealthy that are now museums.  We found some street food to snack on for the time being.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Came across this locked door and thought it would do fine for a Thursday Doors post.  In the ancient Chinese buildings they had high door thresholds so you had to step over it to enter.  This photo shows the threshold and it appears to be removable.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Door #113 seems to have weathered some years on this street and it secures the occupants in a colorful brick and motar wall.  Not sure what was on the other side of this door but check back with me to see more doors from China in future posts.

Thanks for visiting my blog and thanks to Norm 2.0 for his Thursday Doors blog.  For more blogs and photos of doors by others please go to: Thursday Doors.

15 thoughts on “Preview of Doors in China

  1. Two wonderful choices for this week. I love the color of that first one.
    I look forward to seeing some of the other ones you captured over the coming weeks. That must have been a special trip.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Norm. This was my 4th trip to the Shanghai region since the early 2000s and I was not sure what my wife could arrange to show me since she is from there. Shanghai is mostly a big modern city with some areas still retaining their old culture but the big developers/government are always trying to move into areas to redevelop so the opportunities to see the “National Geographic” type scenes make it challenging.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I checked out this post after you ‘liked’ one of my door posts. I am also retired and love traveling around the world. I am a fairly recent new blogger and just started posting on Thursday doors. I am looking forward to your future posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

