Doors Made in China

One day during our travels in China in 2016 we took the subway and transferred to a train (I think it might have been a magnetic levitation system) to visit a village somewhere on the outskirts of the city of Shanghai.  I don’t recall the name of the village but it is near a waterway and it has several bridges.  A sign directory did state in English that it was the Hongqiao Scenic Spot but I am not certain if it was referring to the spot I was standing on or the entire village.  There were many door photo ops at this location so I’m posting a few for this Thursday Doors post.

This first door was near the entry into this alleyway of pedestrian walkways along the waterway.  I thought the door monument of the elephant was interesting so I took a shot of it and the door happened to be in the background.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Door #64 seemed to be weathered and might have been an entry gate; I didn’t take the time to peek into the openings to see what was behind it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The third door was made of several wood panels.  The empty wooden chair made a statement to me (I’m not sure what that statement was) so I took the shot.  Maybe I was thinking, “out to lunch” or something but that chair was mighty small!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Door #62 adds color to this post with the red lanterns and red Chinese character on the door.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the last photo for this post and I’ll leave the others for some other time.  I think this door should be captioned “Guardian of the Door”; the little fella came out of the open door to check out what was going outside and was later followed by his buddy but that was captured in a different photo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had fun shooting in this location because of the interesting scenery and people.

Thanks for visiting my blog and thanks to Norm 2.0 for his Thursday Doors blog.  For more blogs and photos of doors by others please go to: Thursday Doors.

13 thoughts on “Doors Made in China

    1. I don’t think you have to worry about this one. There are horror stories about using dogs for food in China and the stories are true; on a prior trip heading to the south in 2010 we did pass a truck with dogs crowded into the back cage and I imagine the fate of those dogs was not going to be a good one.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Deborah. I was doing some post processing of the photos taken on this day at the village and I was quite surprised of how many photos of doors I shot. I have taken shots of doors on my travels and shoots before but getting me to join Norm’s Thursday Doors blog has made me look for doors where ever I go these days.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

