Roadhouse and the Old Gentleman

Talkeetna, AK was such a cool tourist place that I decided to post another door from that place.

I passed by the Roadhouse and made sure to get a photo in case I needed a door for Norm’s 2.o Thursday Doors post so it was fortuitous.  It was a hotel, restaurant & bakery but we didn’t venture inside to investigate despite the nice white picket fence and white rocking chairs outside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The door also had a sign that said “Welcome” so it’s a good bet that they must be friendly inside.  One of the ways to determine whether the town was really a friendly place was to people watch their residents.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And, we did just that.  We came upon an old “gentleman”, dressed like an old hippy from the 60’s, on the back of an old pickup truck giving a young boy some sage advice and from what little that I heard, it seemed like good advice to me, so I told him so and he liked that.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you’re ever in Alaska and have the chance to visit Talkeetna, I recommend checking it out, you might find a door you like or see some of their interesting residents.

Thanks for visiting my blog and thanks to Norm 2.0 for his Thursday Doors blog.  For more blogs and photos of doors by others please go to: Thursday Doors.

8 thoughts on “Roadhouse and the Old Gentleman

    1. Thanks. I posted some fog shots on my Flickr; you should be able to see them.
      Surprised that you’re not going on Sat. morning with Billee. She is catching a ride with my wife and me; Dan is now driving cause he has to pickup a friend. If you want to go, catch a ride with Billee and I’ll pick her up near our place. Let me know.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I must have missed your recent flickr posts then.

        RE: Sat. I didn’t want to get up at 3am and drive that far and not get a sunrise shot. I see the time is later now and the gate doesn’t open til 7. I’m just not feeling it.

        I’m sure you’re going to have a wonderful day, and get lots of great images, and I may live to regret not joining you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

