Pescadero

Last Sunday I met some old friends for lunch then was persuaded to drive them down the California coast to a little community of farms and cattle ranches.  The town of Pescadero is very small, it only has one 4-way stoplight (only red lights, no yellow or green).  How small is it?  I wouldn’t be exaggerating by saying that you can drive from one end of town (their main street) to the other within a few minutes (or less).

Many people stop in to have a drink or meal at Duarte’s Tavern or visit the County Store.  They also sell an artichoke bread and people claim its worth the drive to get their fix.

They also have a few craftsman and artistic shops such as the Made in Pescadero store.

P8140311

The Country Store is a restaurant and general store.

P8140305

Walking down the street I saw a sign and decided to see what was there.

P8140310

I found an old building, an old VW Bug (Beetle), an old bench, a catty sign and a door for this blog (nothing special but a door nevertheless).  I don’t know what kind of shop lurked behind the doors as I didn’t venture in but maybe it will be a reason for a return trip some other time.

P8140312

Before we left this little town, I spotted an old guy holding a hawk in front of the Country Store so I asked if I could take a few photos.  Apparently, he raised this bird when it was 10 days old and I learned that its breed is a Goshawk.

P8140319

The general history of this town can be found on this link: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pescadero,_California

Bonus post, last Friday morning some photographer friends and I drove up to the ridge above the town of Fairfax in Marin County to try to capture some photos of the Perseid Meteors.  We met at 12:45 a.m. and got to our destination about 1:30 a.m., and set up sometime after 2:00 a.m. (trying to ignore the howling coyotes).  We saw some meteors fly past our cameras and I got lucky to capture 3 meteors in my time-lapse shots (I wanted to post the short video to show the 2 meteors streaking past but this site didn’t allow me to upload videos so I’m posting one of the shots of a meteor).  We gave up after 4:15 a.m. because of the cold, moist darkness and the inability to capture more meteor shots.

P8120070

Thanks for visiting my blog and thanks to Norm 2.0 for his Thursday Doors blog.  For more blogs and photos of doors by others please go to: Thursday Doors.

16 thoughts on “Pescadero

  1. I like the old beetle in that door shot. It reminds me there’s a local body shop that a has a replica of Herbie the Love Bug sitting out on his lot that I wanted to go photograph.
    Nice shots 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for visiting. Yes watching the skies for meteors takes patience; almost like watching paint dry but when you do see something all that time is forgotten in the excitement. We had an adventure doing this, meeting others in the middle of the night, finding parking in the dark along a mountain road when signs posted said no parking – tow away zone (at the top of a mountain?), keeping your fears in check when hearing the howls from the coyotes and dealing with the cold moist air early in the morning. So the backstory makes the photos better. 🙂

      Like

      1. Definitely. I experienced something similar years ago when trying to photograph a lunar eclipse on a night when the temperature reached -25 degrees Fahrenheit. The camera shutter actually froze.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great captures, all! That VW and the door, I love that.
    I wonder how expensive and complicated I’d need my camera to be to take beautiful photos of the night sky? There probably isn’t one fancy enough for me yet, lol! That’s a fabulous shot you got. I have friends who can take great pics of the moon with an iPhone and I envy them…
    But the man and his hawk take the cake — wonderful story and a man and his companion always better subject matter for me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Joey, glad you enjoyed the post. I regret that I forgot the bird handler’s email (must be that age thing); he suggested that I send him a photo but didn’t have a business card and when it came time to remember his email address, I forgot it (tried sending a couple of emails to what I thought it was and it bounced back). Maybe I’ll have to post his photo on Pescadero’s fb page. Have a great weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. After I saw the comment about the artichoke bread, I became totally distracted. Artichoke bread?!! That sounds rather different … did you get any?

    You saw 3 more meteors than I did. It was overcast where I was 😦
    It only takes 1 for an amazing photo – and you got it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

