Los Gatos – The Cat

This week, I took the Mrs. to celebrate her birthday and our anniversary (yes, it happens every year on the same date).  Her first restaurant selection in Los Gatos had the next open reservation available in about 3 weeks so that was not going to work; I searched and found another restaurant in Los Gatos with excellent reviews so we headed there and had an excellent time.  If anyone wants to try Nick’s Next Door (apparently he operated a restaurant across the street from his present location then opened this restaurant on his own so that’s how he came up with the name) I recommend it for its good food and service.

This is Nick’s door; I think it was a former house that was converted into a restaurant but many of the businesses in this small city are converted residences or buildings and they have a lot character.

p9270090

History reports that Los Gatos was originally named La Rinconada de Los Gatos (Cat’s Corner) by early settlers due to the screams of mountain lions prowling in the night.  More of the city’s history can be found at this link:  http://www.town.los-gatos.ca.us/515/About-Los-Gatos .

This building seems to translate the city’s name into visual graphics.

p9270125

During my infrequent visits to this city I recall seeing many foreign sports cars (like Ferraris)  cruising the streets but this time I didn’t notice any.  However, after our lunch we strolled around  this district and passed a car dealer that I don’t normally see (it gives you an idea of what kind of economics are at play in this city and the dealership was empty – you think they sold out their inventory???).

p9270095

The rest of the shots are doors we passed.

p9270092

I saw the orange awning from a distance and noticed that they had iron gates in this building of shops.

p9270098

The next shot was my favorite find; the mural was very realistic.

p9270104

Guess its time to prepare for Halloween.

p9270110

We passed this Victorian house which is characteristic of homes in this city; it had 3 doors and it fulfilled my quota of doors for this week so we decided it was time to go, especially when the temperature was 100 degrees.

Thanks for visiting my blog and thanks to Norm 2.0 for his Thursday Doors blog.  For more blogs and photos of doors by others please go to: Thursday Doors.

14 thoughts on “Los Gatos – The Cat

  1. OMG! I’ve been crossing the Hill since I was 10 yrs. old and never not once have I been to “The Cats”! For a long time it was closed, but I never wanted to deal with crossing Hwy 17 after a dinner and a couple of drinks in the dark. Finally the State built the wall, and over crossing, and The Cats opened again, and yet…I’ve still not tried it! In the late 60’s and 70’s when I was a teenager it was the place to go. It was on my Bucket List then!

    Just on my last trip over the Hill to shoot the Full Harvest Moon I saw The Cats parking lot was full and I asked Dali whom I was driving over the hill if he’d ever been there. He hadn’t either.
    Perhaps we should make it an event and all of us go! I’ll bring my camera. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That mural certainly is very realistic, and very deceptive!
    Nick’s Next Door looks like it’d a be a nice place to spend an evening. Converting houses into restaurants/cafes seems to be a bit of a trend here in Australia too

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know you’ll find this hard to believe, but we also have an anniversary every year on the same day, although not on the same day as you and your wife. Amazing. Congratulations on yours and on all your photos here.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Janet. Actually, this date every year has become somewhat expensive for me because my wife and her sister have the same birthday but they were born 2 years apart and we also celebrate our anniversary (so its at lease a couple of dinners and an anniversary gift but no complaints from me).

      Like

Leave a Reply

