Vine Country

Last week’s adventure began with a photo shoot at the Quarryhills Botanical Garden in Glen Ellen, California.  They had about 40 acres planted with a vineyard and the hillsides planted with an asian garden.  Their pond kept us occupied with their dragonflies and I probably spent too much time there chasing dragons and didn’t get to see much of their gardens.  The following photos show some of the creatures that I encountered.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After that event, I became a “passenger prisoner” again, my driver headed off to explore a few more wineries to scout for future events where I found some doors for this post.

The first stop was at the Matanzas Creek Winery.  It was a beautiful landscaped winery; they are noted to have a lavender garden which we saw but we were a couple weeks early before they flowered.  They even set up a frame so photographers have a composition when they host their lavender photo event.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After spending some time at their pond shooting more dragonflies and frogs we hit the road again but before departing I found their shed or storage building that begged to have it’s door  photographed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the road, we passed this dilapidated structure and immediately stopped, did a u-turn and spent a few minutes looking for doors (well that was my objective) and other compositions to photograph.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We next set our sights for the Quivira Winery and my guide informed me that they had a nicely landscaped garden on the property.  That was certainly true but the interest here is on doors so here are a couple of doors from the Quivira Winery (the first, a glass storefront entrance is not interesting but the wooden side doors are certainly worth a second look).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The last destination was a small winery up on a hill but I failed to get the name of it.  I didn’t get any photos of any doors there so I’ll post a couple of shots of their vineyard.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The scouting trip ended here and we headed back home to my eventual parole from this event.

Hope you get a chance to checkout all of the posts on Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors website.  Norm is the Door Vintner that created the Thursday Doors pictorial barrel and ensures that the door enthusiasts properly ferment their door blogs before releasing them at the right vintage.  Thanks for visiting my blog and thanks to Norm 2.0 for his Thursday Doors blog.  For more blogs and photos of doors by others please go to: Thursday Doors.

20 thoughts on “Vine Country

  1. LOL! Loved your ending paragraph about aging the door posts to be released at the right vintage. Brilliant ending and segue to Norm’s links!

    My favorite was the Dragonfly, and that old, weather, dilapidated barn with all those glorious poppies in around it. WOW!

    It looks like I missed a great Meet-Up, but being a prisoner again doesn’t look like it was too hard a sentence to pay. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Deborah. Full sign-up and about 8 of us showed up, again. It was a nice day but it got awefully hot in the afternoon. I think Matanzas is the destination that Dan is setting up in June so you’ll have a chance to see some interesting sights and give your new equipment a workout.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re not signed up for that Meet-Up. You must have something great lined up I hope to miss it. Oysters & Wine, and photography!
        😦
        I haven’t signed up for the Oysters & Wine thing, but Dan has. I’ve never tried oysters, and don’t think I’d care for them raw.
        I’m like to car pool with him even if I don’t do that. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t sign up yet; still debating and would be wait listed. My wife returns from Shanghai the next evening. Not sure if I would drink n drive as I get sleepy after I drink. Lunch event is pricey and I eat a few raw oysters but not that much; I imagine they would have grilled ones too.

    Like

  3. I’m always such a sucker for dilapidated barns – lovely photos. Really liked the woodpecker shots too. At least you get sunny days and blue skies for your photography excusions! Here in Montreal it’s been so grey and gloomy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Susi! During the summer months, I have to travel outside of San Francisco and my small city next door to see summer warmth because we usually get the fog (I’m not complaining because it is our natural a/c and we don’t have a/c in our homes).

      Like

    1. Thank you, Jesh! I wish all my shots were tack sharp but I’m still working on that. I’m trying to use back button focus to see if that helps; my birds in flight shots are the most challenging and often not sharp but it takes practice so I’m working on that.

      Like

      1. One thing I know is that you and many who link to Thurs. Doors are way ahead in photographic precision and skill, but it takes too much energy to work in both artistic directions at the same time. But I thoroughly enjoy seeing good work:)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

